My Daily Ritual

20131227-100210.jpg

Being infertile has a devastating effect on one’s mind. You continue to wonder if there is anything else you can do to increase your chances of conceiving that much wanted little blessing. I am always continually reading and trying to source what other options are available to me that just may boost my depleted egg count and fertility. At the age of 28, I have a very poor AMH count of just 4. AMH ranges from between 50-0.  According to this graph published by my fertility clinic (Queensland Fertility Group), I am in the area low for my age- below the 25th percentile. I would do anything in my power to make my body the healthiest it can be, and produce good quality, strong healthy eggs- especially if it gives me just the smallest chance of having that precious baby.

Each morning, I begin my daily ritual of taking my usual dose of vitamins and minerals as recommended to me by an acupuncturist, naturopath and midwife. Each morning I take 15 tablets!!!! Anyone would think I was drastically ill taking that amount of pills, and then another 9 at night-time. The concoction of vitamins I take are listed below.

  • Natal Complete Multivitamin- this vitamin was recommended to me by my Acupunturist as an alternative to the ever popular pregnancy vitamin called “Elevit”. Elevit contains a high dosage of Folic Acid (800mcg) which may be unnecessary as your body only needs 500mcg to be not deficient in Folate. Elevit also does not contain ANY Choline and too little B12, which are both required for Folate to be absorbed and activated by the body. Hence why I was recommended to use the Natal Complete Multivitamin- it contains adequate amounts of Folic Acid, B12 and Choline so it can be absorbed and activated by the body. I take one tablet in the morning.
  • Royal Jelly- Again recommended to me by my Acupunturist, it is recommended to take between 1000-2000mg of Royal Jelly per day. It is made from Bee Pollen and is rich in amino acids, lipids, vitamins and proteins. I specifically take it as it can help to increase egg health. You should not take Royal Jelly however, if you are allergic to bee stings or honey.
  • CoQ10- Co-Enzyme Q10 is usually taken for heart health, and plays a key role in energy production, particularly in the cells of both eggs and sperm. Levels of CoQ10 can diminish as you age, resulting in reduced cellular energy, which can impact on fertility. CoQ10 can be used to enhance fertility and also functions as an antioxidant, decreasing the damaging effects of free radicals on the reproductive system. My naturopath first put me on CoQ10 to assist with my energy levels, but now I also take it to assist with fertility. I take three 50mg tablets both in the morning and at night.
  • Omega 3 (DHA)- Fish Oil- according to my Acupunturist (Kirsty Eng Fertility), Omega 3 is an essential fertility nutrient as it aids in balancing hormones, promotes ovulation and increases blood flow to the uterus. I take two 100mg tablets both in the morning and at night.
  • Vitamin E- Vitamin E increases fertile mucous and improves egg quality. I take one 1000iu tablet in the morning.
  • Evening Primrose Oil- Evening Primrose Oil increases fertile cervical mucous too, helps promote ovulation and regulates menstruation. I have read elsewhere that this should only be taken up to ovulation, as if it is taken in the luteal phase, it can cause uterine contractions which can cause the embryo to not implant. I take two 1000mg tablets both in the morning and at night up until ovulation.
  • Fab Iron- Decreased fertility has been linked to low iron stores. High iron stores aids in thickening the endometrium. Fab Iron is more absorbable than iron tablets bought from the pharmacy, and does not cause constipation or nausea. I take one 100mg tablet in the morning. It can be bought in liquid form too, but I don’t like the taste of it! According to my fertility type- Blood Deficient- additional iron can also help enrich the blood.
  • Folic Acid- It was recommended to me by a practicing midwife that I take an additional Folic Acid supplement on top of my pregnancy multivitamin. Folic Acid should be taken prior to conception to limit the incidence of neural tube defects. I take one 500mcg tablet at night, as apparently if it taken in the morning when you will then consume tea, it can cancel the Folic Acid out.
  • Spirulina- I have only just started taking this additional supplement. I read about it in the book called “The Baby Making Bible” by Emma Cannon. Seaweed is good for my blood deficient fertility type. I am always open minded to giving new things a go and have recently just started taking this supplement. I take three 500mg tablets both in the morning and at night.
  • TCM Supplements- on top of this daily routine of pills, I also take a traditional chinese medicine supplement from my Acupunturist. At the moment I am taking Ba Zhen Tang which is a Qi and Blood Tonic. From learning about my fertility type, I am also Qi Deficient. Qi is essential for balanced emotions and as many as 70% of women show signs of Qi Deficiency!
  • Food and Herbal Teas- Finally, my daily ritual also includes a strict diet of particular foods which are recommended for my fertility type. Lately, I have been ensuring I eat plenty of spinach leaves, avocados, eggs, apricots, sprouts, mushrooms and chicken to help nourish my blood. I also drink Nettle Tea and Dandelion Tea as these teas are also meant to help nourish the blood. Red Raspberry Leaf tea is also good, but can only be consumed up until ovulation, as it can cause uterine contractions too, resulting in any possible embryo/s not implanting.

I wonder if women who do not have fertility problems fuss so much over taking a daily ritual of what seems like a thousand pills? I long for the day when I don’t have to take so many pills, but for now, I am happy taking them, as I know it just may help us have our rainbow baby!

Leave a Reply

