It finally happened!

20140126-080017.jpg

It finally happened! Yesterday!

This morning, was Day 1 of injections. My doctor wanted me to start 300iu of Gonal-F on CD 1 this cycle. But alas, being the Australia Day long weekend, the doctors office was only open for a little bit yesterday morning, and of course, my period arrived during the day, after they’d closed, so I couldn’t pick up the stims to start on CD1.

Luckily, the doctor had given me a back up dose to have at home just in case something like this happened. So I used it this morning on CD 2, as the doctor won’t be open until tomorrow (CD3) for us to collect some more, and have the usual pre-IVF bloodwork and ultrasounds. I figured it was better to start on CD 2 and continue once we get some more injections tomorrow, rather than missing a day in between.

So tomorrow means another 8 hr round trip to Brisbane (leaving at 2am, as our doctor only sees his IVF patients from 6:30-7:30am) to see the doctor and collect more injections, but we’re excited.

As I was giving my injection to myself this morning, I said to Troy “I hate doing this”, but he reminded me “Don’t think about it, we’ll get our bubby out of this”. This cycle already feels so much more positive! The one… I feel excited, almost a sense of exhilaration. The kind of jump up and down excitement. The excitement that brings butterflies to your stomach. Like a kid at the show excited to go on all the rides. We’re back on the roller coaster, but hopefully there won’t be so many ups and downs, and we’ll be able to hop off at the end this time and say “Wow, what a ride!”

Leave a Reply

