Most Amazing Day of My Life

Yesterday was the most amazing day of my life.

7:50- Left home in a half asleep state to make it to GP appointment on time.

9:00- Made it to GP appointment in Childers. Expressed concerns of being in limbo land. Got a referral to have an early scan and repeat HCG BT to ensure levels rise from yesterday.

9:30- Make the further 1/2hr drive to Bundaberg and relax at my parents house for a bit while we wait for scan appointment.

12:00- Make our way to scan appointment at the radiology place. Begin to feel highly nervous. My life depends on this. Last time I had a scan I was told “sorry, there’s no heartbeat”. Have an abdominal scan and transvaginal scan with the lovely dildo camera. The ones they use at our clinic all the time! Locate 2 gestational sacs, 2 yolk sacs and 2 heartbeats!!! Twins!!! Happiest moment of my life!!!! A grin from ear to ear, can’t stop smiling!!

2:30- Have to wait until 3:00 to pick up results from the radiology place but they message me earlier saying they’re ready for collection, so make a mad drive back to Childers by 3:15 to have follow up appointment with GP.

3:15- Results indicate my ovaries are still highly stimulated from the IVF drugs and full of large follicles. There is fluid in my pelvis and pouch of Douglas (as a result of the OHSS), and there is a twin intrauterine pregnancy measuring the correct size at 5w 4d. EDD- 3 September, 2015 (The Day after my Mother’s Birthday!) The extra fluid and swelling may be causing the spotting and cramping. There is no subchorionic bleed.

3:30- Make our way back home and get more sleep in the afternoon.

9:00- Sleep through until 9:00 the next morning!!

Oh my goodness!! Still can’t believe there are twins! I hope they will continue to grow and hold on until our next scan with our FS on the 19th. I’ll be 7w 3d then. I’m even more terrified! Twin pregnancies can be higher risk, and often deliver premature. We have a long way to go!

Today the spotting has returned after it had completely tapered off, and I have a really odd feeling between my uterus and bowel, which brings pain when I walk, laugh, move too much. I have a feeling it’s the Pouch of Douglas which was referred to on the scan results. So I’ve been completely debilitated and on bed rest today. Troy is doing a wonderful job of taking care of me. I just hope the twins are ok! My HCG results went up from 15490 to 17800 overnight, so I really hope everything is still ok with the babies. These results do bring me a huge relief that I am in fact pregnant, as previously I didn’t believe it and I was more than positive I would miscarry with the bleeding, spotting and cramping I experienced over the weekend. I still don’t really feel pregnant. The lingering OHSS symptoms probably don’t help the situation. All I really feel is extreme tiredness.

Here’s our babies at 5w 4d.

IMG_0924.JPG

19 thoughts on “Most Amazing Day of My Life

  1. Kimberly

    I knew it all along! Bleedig and cramping are so common with twin pregnancies! Everything is growing so fast! (Dont let the fact that they are commin stop you from being vigilent though!) i hope you can enjoy this pregnancy soon!

    Reply
    1. danielle284 Post author

      Thanks Kimberly! I woukd never have picked we had twins. Still can’t believe it, but oh so very happy! Spotting has eased a fair bit today- fingers crossed!

      Reply
  2. MrsPearce

    Dani, i have tears in my eyes. So much happiness for you!!! I had a feeling you might have twins as your numbeds were so high. Congratulations! I cant exoress how happy i am for you and Troy xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

